professor salaries in austria

professor salaries in austria

  • The pay scale structure for the salary of scientists is transparently regulated in Austria. If a professor is employed at a state university, his/her salary is automatically regulated in the collective agreement for scientific university staff.
  • In the salary scheme of the collective agreement for scientific university staff, the subdivision is made into different salary groups - A1, A2, B1, B2 and C. University professors who have been appointed on the basis of an appointment procedure are in salary group A1. They start with a salary of 5,826.50 euros. This salary increases after 6 years to 6,379.70 euros, after 12 years to 6,927.60 euros, after 18 years to 7,475.50 euros and after 24 years to 8,023.50 euros.
  • Assistant professors and associate professors are usually in salary group A2 and start with a salary of 5,124.20 euros.

Source: Collective agreement for academic university staff

Professors’ salaries in international comparison (edit)

  • According to the American Association of University Professors, the average salary of a full professor in the U.S. is $8,500 per month, which is equivalent to 7,200 euros (source: naibuzz.com). Salaries at elite universities are, of course, significantly higher. At Harvard University, for example, the base salary averages $17,300 per month, equivalent to 14,650 euros.
  • French universities are generally public institutions, so the government sets their salaries. Tenured full professors earn an average of 5,040 euros per month (source: glassdoor.com).
  • In Canada, a tenured full professor earns an average of 10,400 CAD, which is approximately 6,650 euros per month (source: glassdoor.com).

professoren/innen- Gehälter in österreich

professoren/innen- Gehälter in österreich

  • Die Tarifstruktur für das Gehalt von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ist in Österreich transparent geregelt. Wenn ein/e Professor/in an einer staatlichen Hochschule angestellt ist, ist sein/ihr Gehalt automatisch im Kollektivvertrag für wissenschaftliches Universitätspersonal geregelt.
  • Im Gehaltsschema des Kollektivvertrags für das wissenschaftliche Universitätspersonal wird die Unterteilung in verschiedene Gehaltsgruppen vorgenommen - A1, A2, B1, B2 und C. Universitätsprofessor/innen, die auf Grund eines Berufungsverfahrens bestellt wurden sind in der Gehaltsgruppe A1 angesiedelt. Sie steigen mit einem Gehalt von 5.826,50 Euro ein. Diese Gehalt steigt nach 6 Jahren auf 6.379,70 Euro, nach 12 Jahren auf 6.927,60 Euro, nach 18 Jahren auf 7.475,50 Euro und nach 24 Jahren auf 8.023,50 Euro.
  • Assistenzprofessoren und ausserordentliche Professoren sind i.d.R. in der Gehaltsgruppe A2 angesiedelt und starten mit einem Gehalt von 5.124,20 Euro.

Quelle: Kollektivvertrag für wissenschaftliches Universitätspersonal

Professoren/innen-Gehälter im internationalen Vergleich (Bearbeiten)

  • Nach Angaben der American Association of University Professors beträgt das Durchschnittsgehalt eines/r ordentlichen Professors/Professorin in der USA 8.500 Dollar pro Monat, das entspricht 7.200 Euro (Quelle: naibuzz.com). Die Gehälter an den Elite-Universitäten liegen natürlich deutlich höher. An der Harvard University liegt die Grundvergütung zum Beispiel bei durchschnittlich 17.300 Dollar pro Monat, das entspricht 14.650 Euro.
  • Französische Universitäten sind in der Regel öffentliche Einrichtungen, daher legt die Regierung ihre Gehälter fest. Fest angestellte ordentliche Professoren/innen verdienen im Schnitt 5.040 Euro pro Monat (Quelle: glassdoor.com).
  • In Kanada verdient ein/ festangestellte/r ordentliche/r Professor/in im Schnitt 10’400 CAD, das entspricht ca. 6.650 Euro pro Monat (Quelle: glassdoor.com).




Anzeige