Shower of awards for members of ICC Water & Health

      -       english   -  deutsch

Researchers from the interuniversity cooperation centre ICC Water & Health, which also incorporates some MedUni Vienna departments, were awarded numerous prizes for their research papers at the 37th Annual Meeting of the Austrian Society for Hygiene, Microbiology and Preventive Medicine.

After twice being cancelled due to Covid-19 and so with a two-year delay, the 37th Annual Meeting of the ÉGHMP (Austrian Society for Hygiene, Microbiology and Preventive Medicine) finally took place in Bad Ischl between 31 May and 2 June 2022. Especially for most of the young researchers of the Interuniversity Cooperation Centre Water and Health (ICC Water and Health,, which includes the MedUni Vienna departments of Water Hygiene and Water Microbiology, respectively headed up by Regina Sommer and Alexander Kirschner at the Institute of Hygiene and Applied Immunology, Center for Pathophysiology, Infectiology and Immunology, it was the first opportunity to present their results to a broad-based scientific audience and discuss them in the context of lectures and poster sessions.

ICC Water & Health researchers won no fewer than five scientific prizes , the ÉGHMP Hygiene Grant 2020, two ÉGHMP Poster Prizes 2022 and four ÉGHMP Conference Grants 2022. In addition to the awards, a total of 7 presentations and 9 poster sessions impressively demonstrated the strong presence of ICC Water & Health in the field of water and health.

ICC Water & Health (Interuniversity Cooperation Centre Water & Health) is a sponsored collaboration between Vienna University of Technology, Medical University of Vienna and - since 2017 - Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences in Krems.

ICC Water & Health award winners

Austrian Hygiene Prize 2021
Katalin Demeter / Julia Derx
Modelling the interplay of future changes and wastewater management measures on the microbiological river water quality considering safe drinking water production

Austrian Hygiene Prize 2022
Thomas James Oudega
Upscaling Transport of Bacillus subtilis Endospores and Coliphage phiX174 in Heterogeneous Porous Media from the Column to the Field Scale­/34318669/

Hospital and Industrial Hygiene Prize 2020
Barbara Schrammel / Sílvia Cervero-Aragó
Viability and infectivity of viable but nonculturable Legionella pneumophila strains induced at high temperatures

Hospital and Industrial Hygiene Prize 2022
Julia Derx
Genetic Microbial Source Tracking Support QMRA Modeling for a Riverine Wetland Drinking Water Resource­­articles/P­MC8317494/

ÖGHMP Microbiology Prize 2020
René Mayer
Global Distribution of Human-Associated Fecal Genetic Markers in Reference Samples from Six Continents­­articles/P­MC5932593/

ÖGHMP Hygiene Grant 2020
Carmen Rehm

ÖGHMP Conference Grants 2022
Lena Campostrini
Iris Schachner
Sophia Steinbacher
Theresa Strohhammer

ÖGHMP Poster Prizes 2022
Lena Campostrini
Michael Reiter