Matthias Preusser receives highly endowed grant from the EU

      -       english   -  deutsch

Head of the study Matthias Preusser, Manager of the Clinical Department of Oncology at MedUni Vienna’s University Department of Internal Medicine I, has secured a highly endowed grant in the EU Horizon - Mission Cancer programme for an international Phase III clinical trial. The title of the study is "Lomustine with or without re-irradiation for first progression of glioblastoma: a randomized phase III study (LEGATO)". The aim of the study is to define a new therapeutic standard for the treatment of glioblastoma (malignant brain tumour).

The total approved budget is 5.8 million, with funding to start in June 2023. The randomised phase III study will be conducted by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) from the first quarter of 2024 in around 40 European centres, including MedUni Vienna, and will include 411 patients. The aim of the study is to define a new standard of treatment for recurrent glioblastoma.

The European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) is a non-profit organisation for cancer therapy studies and unites experts in clinical cancer research throughout Europe. It is one of the most important European organisations in the field of research-based oncology. The EORTC is the only European institution in the field of oncology whose treatment data are also accepted by the FDA in the USA for the approval of drugs. The activities range from translational to large, prospective, multicentre phase III clinical trials, in which new therapies and treatment strategies as well as the patients’ quality of life are evaluated. The network comprises approximately 2,500 members from more than 300 different European institutions.

About the person
Matthias Preusser is Professor of Internal Oncology at MedUni Vienna and Head of the Clinical Division of Oncology at the Department of Internal Medicine I at MedUni Vienna and the University Hospital Vienna. Currently, he serves as Chairman of the EORTC Brain Tumour Group.